Naan Therapy

Or should it be 'paratha' therapy …

Pecan coffee cookies

with one comment

Pecan, Coffee, Butter...

Pecan, Coffee, Butter...

I am a fan of Heidi Swanson’s unusual combination of ingredients and textures. Original recipe for this cookie can be found here.

I did some variations. Like I chopped the pecans by hand instead of making a fine meal. Why? I like using a knife – a bit of blood, sweat and tears always makes the food taste better. Kidding!

I find that finely chopped nuts makes the batter less dense than pureed nuts.  Also add texture to the cookies. And before I go on,  here is my recipe with variations:

  • 145 gm whole wheat flour
  • 85 gm oat flour
  • 1 cup toasted, cooled and very finely chopped pecans (~100 gm)
  • 45 gm fine grain cane sugar
  • 225 gm unsalted European style butter (e.g. plugra)
  • 1 Tbsp instant coffee
  • Pinch of salt
  • Powdered cane sugar for dusting

Dough was loose, but an hour of chilling firmed it up – 15 minutes was probably enough but I lazed about with a book during this hour. It is the same principle as meat marination – procrastination – the belief that one is doing something useful when one is not. I should have gone for a run instead – given the amount of butter I had put in the cookies.

The cookies spread significantly and took ~15 min to bake. But the house smelled deliciously buttery. Coffee and oat flour had enhanced the nuttiness of the roasted pecans but, the cookies still turned out more buttery than nutty.  Melt in your mouth buttery, reach out for those statins buttery…

Next time (if there is a next time) I will reduce the butter by half and double the coffee. I didn’t bother to use pastry flour at the time of making this batch because of the amount of butter in the recipe. I suspect that the cookies will turn out noticeably lighter with pastry flour if I am skimping on butter. And yes, I will exercise my option of moving the bourbon from flask to the batter.

Written by Som

October 10, 2009 at 8:46 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have got to try these!
    check out my baking blog and tell me what you think: http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael

    retroho

    October 11, 2009 at 2:41 am


Leave a Reply

